Introduction to Mickel’s Johnson Co AR Compilation Book

My Smith family moved to Johnson County, Arkansas a few years before 1850. The family had been in Jackson County, Alabama prior to their removal to Arkansas. I know little so far about my Smith family. I found my 5th great grandfather, David Smith, on the 1850 census report in Horsehead, Johnson County, Arkansas. I then have record of a land grant that David “Editon” Smith purchased from the state of Arkansas in 1855. That is the last record I found for David Smith. David Smith was married to Sarah Gallymore.

David and Sarah Smith’s son, Richard Smith, participated in both the Union and Confederate armies during the War Between the States from 1862 to 1865. Following the war, Richard moved around a lot throughout Arkansas and Oklahoma. His son Preston and Preston’s descendants eventually settled in Sebastian County, Arkansas. Sebastian County was the next county west on the border of Arkansas and Oklahoma.

In December 2008, I started finding and evaluating resources for Johnson County, Arkansas. One of the resources I found, and knew that I could get my hands on easily, was Mrs. R. W. Mickel’s book, Johnson County, Arkansas Probate court records: wills, estate settlements, deeds, 1835 tax list – 1840 census; over 10,000 names. My goal was to find a probate or will record for my David Smith.

This book’s index had several Smiths listed with corresponding page numbers. Due to time constraints I was only able to xerox a few pages from the book. I did not find any records of my David Smith or his sons, Claiborn or Richard Smith. However, I did find existence of a couple of other Smith families in Johnson County. I wonder if they were connected to my Smith family.
I have copied most of the Smith family entries in this post.

4 Responses to “Introduction to Mickel’s Johnson Co AR Compilation Book”

  1. I’m new to doing genealogy research so this information may or may not be helpful. I have been doing research on the Smith Family and got back as far as Peter Smith who married Elizabeth Darwin. Here’s the info I found on him.
    I am in need of any info on Peter M. Smith (1818 TN–1895 MO)
    who married Elizabeth Darwin (1818 TN–1858 MO?).
    Their children include: George 1841, William 1844, ? 1845, Hiram 1847, James 1849, John 1852, Mary 1854, Prianne 1856, and Alexander.
    It is believe all but Alex were born in Jackson Co, Tn including Peter and Elizabeth.
    Peter moved his family to Shannon Co, MO where Elizabeth died and
    By 1859 Peter was married to Jane/Janni DYE/DYER and had eleven more children.
    Peter died in Shannon Co in 1895.
    Here is some additional information I found.
    On Jan. 2, l840, ELIZABETH DARWIN married Peter Smith, of Jackson
    County, Tenn. He was the grandson of a James M. Smith, who was a slave
    trader or buyer. “Aunt Nancy Smith”, his daughter, said that he was
    a half breed Indian and bought slaves for the Darwin family who owned
    a large plantation.
    I don’t know if this is the same branch of the Smith family that you are researching or not. I was hoping it was based on the reference to James M. Smith. You mention Jackson County AL but maybe it was actually Jackston County TN which is why you could not find a reference to him in AL.
    In this post is a reference to James M. Smith being the grandfather of Peter Smith, however, I can’t find anything showing any children of James M. Smith other than David. But at the same time, I can’t find any reference showing that David had a child named Peter.
    So I’ve kinda hit a brick wall. Any additional info you might have would be greatly appreciated.
    Peter’s son Hiram is my great grandfather.
    Thanks, Carole Saylor

    • Hi Carole,
      Thanks so much for writing. My cousin has visiting Jackson Co., AL and that is where he has gotten much of the information on our Smith family, including the Cherokee Tribe Citizenship application that his ancestor applied for but did not receive. Do you know if Jackson TN borders AL? I wish I could help, but I don’t know anything about the family of James and son Peter. Do you have any Lee or Gallymore family references?
      Ginger

  2. Hi Ginger,
    No, unfortunately, I don’t have any family references to Lee or Gallymore. But if I find any, I will let you know.

    I did a Yahoo map Driving Directions between Jackson County TN and Jackson County AL. They are about 143 miles apart, just a bit less than three hours driving time. I don’t know if that is helpful to you or not.

    My great grandfather,Hiram Thomas Smith, born 1847 Jackson Co, Tenn, d 1919 Shannon Co, MO. married in 1873 in MO to Martha Katherine “Mouse” Rogers. is supposed to have been half Indian but I haven’t figured out how to find out if that is true or not. I live ln Costa Rica, so it is not possible for me to go to any of the government offices or anything like that in the states.

    If you run across anything anything for Hiram Thomas Smith, I would appreciate it if you would let me know.
    Thanks and good luck in your search. Carole

  3. Hi Carole,
    You can take an mtDNA DNA test to determine if Mouse was Native American Indian. It would have to be a direct female descendant of her though. If you’d like to discuss this option, please feel free to email me directly and I can give you specifics – grs3275 at yahoo dot com.
    Ginger

Leave a Reply

