Wordless Wednesday – Preston Smith Family 1912

SmithFamilyPhoto 1912

Photo of Preston and Phoebe Smith Family taken 1912. Photo privately held by Doris Hamblin, granddaughter of Clyde Smith (Pictured on far right). Copies sent to me by mail February 2009.

“From Left to Right Avery, James, Claude, Preston, Phoebe, Wallace on Lap, and Clyde”

Preston Smith and Phoebe Eunice O’Neal were my 3rd Great-Grandparents. They were the parents of eight children, 5 of whom were pictured above:
Hester Smith, b. 1894, d. 1909
Claude Rual Smith, b. 1896, d. 1975
Clyde Preston Smith, b. 1898, d. 1985
James “Jim” Richard Smith, b. 1900, d. 1988
Avery LaRue Smith, b. 1904, d. 1978
Wallace Bollinger Smith, b. 1911, d. 1977
John Alexander Smith, b. 1915, d. 1993
Juliun Smith, b. 1915, d. 1915

This is the only photo I have of Preston Smith. He had dark hair and dark eyes. His wife, Phoebe Eunice O’Neil had reddish brown hair.

Claude Smith, the 3rd one from the left, was my 2nd Great-Grandfather. He had blonde hair and blue or gray eyes.

10 Responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Preston Smith Family 1912”

  1. Dean Farrar Says:

    Wallace Bollinger Smith was my grandpa,he was married to Ethel Inez Smith,they had three children, Dorothy,Harold and Virgina. They moved to Washington state from arkansas . I have more info If desired . Please contact Dean at dadgumit@scattercreek.com Thank you for your research.

  2. Mike McCauley Says:

    I Googled my granfather’s name today and was really suprised to have this picture come up. I have a copy of this picture in my office. Avery LaRue Smith was my grand father. Mable Elaine (Smith) McCauley is my mother. I have really enjoyed reading through your research. My contact is mike_mccauley@hotmail.com

    • Hi Mike, so wonderful to hear from you. I would love to correspond with you about the Smith family. I will send you an email shortly. Thanks again for writing!

      • Janice Y Helms Jones Nickname Bonnie Says:

        I have the same picture ,Claude Smith is my Grandfather,I am Catherine Smith Helms and Jeff M Helms daughter (Bonnie)

  3. Janice Y Helms Jones Nickname Bonnie Says:

    Darrel Smith is my cousin,the son of Uncle JR and Aunt Reba Fox Smith

    • Hi Bonnie, nice to meet you. We have been trying to get up with you guys but the timing is never right when we visit. Hope to visit and meet with you guys soon. Please email me at ginger [dot] reney [at] gmail.com

  4. Janice Y Helms Jones Nickname Bonnie Says:

    Hi, My Mother( Catherine Smith Helms know as Aunt Katie) is 95 years old I made copy of this about the family,she read and said that’s right,Uncle Wallace was name after the Doctor who deliver him. Doctor Bollinger of Charleston,Arkansas. She cries about her Grandpa Preston Smith,she said she was sick with pneumonia and Little Billy dieds,he came from lavaca to stay with them and he got sick and died later.

    • Janice Y Helms Jones Nickname Bonnie Says:

      Mother also told me the night Billy died, Mama (Willie Smith) was rocking him and he (Billy) looked at Mama said ,do you hear that music, Billy told her it was the Angels singing , Mama don’t you hear them? Then he passed away. He is in Heaven with Mama and Papa Smith now,Mother hopes to see them again. She will.

      • Hi Bonnie,
        That’s a nice story about Billie. Do you know when he and your Mother were born? I hope to meet you and your Mother when I come to visit this summer.
        Ginger

  5. Janice Y Helms Jones Nickname Bonnie Says:

    Billie Eugene Smith was born Jan.22,1924
    He pass away Dec.26,1932 He love to eat banana pudding.
    Papa(Claude R Smith) could never eat banana pudding again. Mother(Catherine S Helms)was born September 30,1917

Leave a comment